Executive Committee

Meet the human capital strategists

The Council is governed by a 17 member executive committee comprised of nine representatives from the private business community, seven local elected officials (one from each jurisdiction) and the president of Thomas Nelson Community College. The Executive Committee plans, coordinates and expedites the work of the Board and may take action, when necessary, between Board meetings. The Executive Committee exercises the authority and power of the Board, to the extent permitted by law.

Executive Committee – Private Sector Members

  • Dr. John Olson, Chair
    ECPI University
  • Mark Stefanick, Vice Chair
    Ferguson Enterprises
  • Rhonda Bunn
    Canon Virginia, Inc.
  • Dr. Robert P. Fleishauer
    Science Systems & Applications, Inc.
  • Greg Garrett
    Greg Garrett Realty
  • Dr. Vince Warren (interim)
    Huntington Ingalls Industries-Newport News Shipbuilding
  • Dr. Robin Nelhuebel
    Riverside College of Health Careers
  • Dale Stone
    Wal-Mart D.C.

    Local Government Members

  • The Hon. James “Jimmy” Gray
    Councilman, City of Hampton
  • The Hon. Herbert R. Green, Jr.
    Councilman, City of Poquoson
  • The Hon. Sue Sadler
    James City County Board of Supervisors
  • The Hon. Phillip N. Bazzani
    Gloucester County Board of Supervisors
  • The Hon. Benny Zhang
    Councilman, City of Williamsburg
  • The Hon. Jeffrey Wassmer
    York County Board of Supervisors
  • The Hon. Tina Vick
    Vice Mayor, City of Newport News

Thomas Nelson Community College Member

  • Dr. John T. Dever
    President, Thomas Nelson Community College

Local Government Staff / Non – Voting

  • Alan K. Archer
    Assistant City Manager
    City of Newport News
  • Sheri Newcomb
    Acting Deputy Community Services Director
    York County
  • Sherry Spring
    Director of Economic Development
    Gloucester County
  • Pete Peterson
    Assistant City Manager
    City of Hampton
  • Peter P. Walentisch
    Human Services Director
    City of Williamsburg
  • Barbara Watson
    Assistant Manager of Community Services
    James City County
  • James “Randy” Wheeler
    City Manager
    City of Poquoson

Local Educational Institution / Non-Voting

  • Joseph Johnson
    Executive Director
    New Horizons Regional Education Center

Peninsula Council For Workforce Development Staff / Non-Voting

  • Matthew James
    Peninsula Council for Workforce Development